© 2018 Family Promise of Greater New Braunfels


Randy Vanstory is a retired small business owner and entrepreneur. Randy has lived in the New Braunfels community for 30 years. In that time he has served in many volunteer roles. At his church (Oakwood Church) Randy has served in several leadership roles that has allowed he and his wife Roxi to see the congregation grow from 200 to over 5,000 members. In addition to his church involvement, Randy has served in the following volunteer roles: City Council (3 yrs), Planning and Zoning Commission (9 yrs), McKenna Systems Board Member (3 yrs), McKenna Foundation Board of Directors (Founding member, 7 yrs service). Randy was also a past recipient of the Small Business Person of the Year award from the New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce.


Christen is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. She has her Masters of Social Work from Texas State University in San Maros, TX. She has worked as an outreach counselor at Connections and the Comal County Senior Citizen Center, as a medical social worker at Central Texas Medical center, McKenna Hospital and various home health agencies, and as a mental health counselor at Pegasus Treatment Center in Lockhart, TX and at San Marcos Treatment Center. She currently has her own mental health private practice in New Braunfels, TX


Sarah recently retired after 22 years as assistant administrator for Hill Country Medical Associates. She received a BBA from UT in Austin and has been an active community volunteer for many years. She has been on the board of the Sophienburg Museum & Archives, the Heritage Society of New Braunfels, the NBISD Education Foundation and other organizations. Sarah is serving on the Fund Development Committee.


Brian has worked as a professional accountant for over 24 years including 19 as a CPA. He and his wife and children are life-long residents of New Braunfels, all graduating from New Braunfels High School and members of Oakwood Church. He obtained his BA and Masters in Professional Accounting from the University of Texas at Austin and has held various accounting management positions in both public and private corporations in New Braunfels and surrounding areas. Brian has lived the growth New Braunfels has experienced over the past several decades and is excited to be able to use his skills to further the work of this organization in our community. 


Jeff Brennan is a Branch Manager and Assistant Vice President for Woodforest National Bank, a Family Promise National Partner. With over 15 years of community banking experience, Jeff has volunteered his time with several community partners focused on affordable housing, financial literacy, and hunger. Jeff has volunteered his time with Family Promise of Greater New Braunfels since 2015.


Jake is the current pastor of Peace Lutheran Church in New Braunfels. He received his BA in Theology & History from TLU in Seguin, TX, and his Master of Divinity from the Lutheran Seminary of the Southwest in Austin. Jake has served on church boards for the last 10 years as well as founding Manna Meals, a non-profit soup kitchen, and serving on its board for 2 years.  He has also served on the board of Victoria Christian Assistance Ministry. Jake has a heart for connecting people and bringing others to the table. He currently serves as the chair of the Congregation Relations Committee.


Bob is a retired UCC minister who is active as a volunteer at Habitat for Humanity, the SOS Food Bank and other community service clubs in our area. Bob and his wife moved here from Michigan where Bob also worked on Habitat builds. He received his education at Eden Theological Seminary in St. Louis, MO, and served congregations in Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Alabama. Bob is on the Facilities Committee.


José was a bilingual teacher in NBISD for 32 years. He received his BA in Education from Southwest Texas State University. He has been active in many volunteer programs including the Rotary Club, he has served on the board of the Community Council of South Central Texas and is currently on the TIPHER Board.  José is the Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of New Braunfels and is on the FP Congregation Relations Committee.


Thank you to our past board members for their time, energy, and commitment to the Family Promise mission!

Jason Adams

Doy Cole

Karen Dietz

Melissa Elizondo

Sheila Jackson

Ken Jacobs

David Lange

Michelle Luhrs

Leslie Lybarger

Rosalie Rasmussen

Jeannette Reaves

William Tudor

Peggy Vieira

Kenneth Ward

Gretchen Weicker